Home
>
Advice
> Wine and organic farming - 1001 Dégustations

Wine and organic farming - 1001 Dégustations

What is organic farming?


Organic farming is a production method that differs from other methods in its use of farming and animal-raising practices that respect natural balance. Thus it excludes the use of synthetic chemical products and GMOs and limits the use of inputs.


For those who believe that synthetic chemicals and other pesticides are harmful, organic farming:
Protects the one that uses it
Protects the environment, the earth, the vines, wildlife
Protects the person who consumes the products (processed or unprocessed)


What is an organic wine?


Nouveau logo Agriculture BiologiqueUntil new regulations were published in the 8 March 2012 edition of the French OJ (R-EU-203/2012), an organic wine could only indicate on its label that it was “made from organically grown grapes”.
Now, and since the 2012 harvest, if a wine conforms to the rules stated in the new regulations—including those applying to growing grapes and making wine—it may display the new European logo and the words ORGANIC WINE may appear on its label.
Wines produced before 2012 may also display the logo if winemakers can prove they followed the winemaking rules even before the new regulations were published.
Logo Agriculture BiologiqueIt should be noted that sulfite levels are regulated and organic wines must contain 30mg to 50mg less sulfites than other wines.

The older logo, with which many people are familiar, still appears on bottles.


Organic wines are very similar to traditionally-produced wines. The consumer is assured that throughout the different stages, no chemicals have been added to the earth where the vine is planted or to the wine. Finally, it is not because a winemaker is "organic" that he is necessarily a great winemaker, but nevertheless he respects a certain number of essential elements for quality wine.


To begin with, and for 3 years, the producer will have a 'Conversion Period'. During this period the producer stops using chemicals and is monitored by certification organisations. He will then be allowed to add "Undergoing conversion to organic farming" to his label but will not have the right to use the logo.


Note that organic wines do not give the "hangover" feeling because they contain little sulfur. In contrast, the sulfur being a stabilizer, the low-dosed wines have a lower chance of good conservation, especially during temperature changes.


Organic distinctions are awarded by accredited organisations.


In France, the distinction (Organic farming) is given by Ecocert (www.ecocert.fr)


> See all the selected organic wines
> See our "Biodynamic wines" file
mets

Food and wine pairing

Or


Sondage

Survey

Where do you usually buy your wine?





Results

Follow us

Facebook Twitter RSS

Accueil
>
Conseils
> Le vin et l'agriculture biologique - 1001 Dégustations

Le vin et l'agriculture biologique - 1001 Dégustations

Qu'est-ce que l'agriculture biologique ?


L'agriculture biologique constitue un mode de production qui trouve son originalité dans le recours à des pratiques culturales et d'élevage soucieuses du respect des équilibres naturels. Ainsi, elle exclut l'usage des produits chimiques de synthèse, des OGM et limite l'emploi d'intrants.


Pour ceux qui considèrent que les produits chimiques de synthèse et autres pesticides sont nocifs, l'agriculture biologique:
Protège celui qui produit
Protège l'environnement, la terre, la vigne et la faune
Protège celui qui consomme le produit agricole (transformé ou non)


Qu'est-ce qu'un vin BIO ?


Nouveau logo Agriculture Biologique

Jusqu’au règlement sur le vin biologique paru au JO du 8 mars 2012 (R-UE-203/2012) un vin BIO pouvait faire apparaître sur l’étiquette uniquement la mention « vin issu de raisins produits en agriculture biologique ».
Désormais, et depuis la récolte 2012, s’il répond aux règles édictées par cette règlementation, entre autres respect des règles de viticulture et de vinification, le vin peut arborer sur l’habillage le nouveau logo européen et mentionner VIN BIOLOGIQUE.
Enfin le logo est aussi autorisé pour les vins produits avant 2012 si les vignerons peuvent prouver qu’ils ont respecté les règles d’élaboration de la nouvelle règlementation.
Logo Agriculture BiologiqueA noter que les teneurs en sulfites sont encadrées et que les vins biologiques doivent en contenir de 30 à 50mg en moins que les vins conventionnels.

Toutefois nous voyons encore apparaître sur les bouteilles l’ancien logo que beaucoup connaissent.


Les vins « BIO » se rapprochent beaucoup des méthodes traditionnelles. Le consommateur a l'assurance que tout au long des différentes étapes, aucun produit chimique n'a été rajouté aussi bien dans la terre que sur la vigne et le vin. Enfin ce n'est pas parce qu'un vigneron est « bio » qu'il est obligatoirement un excellent vigneron, mais il respecte tout de m ême un certain nombre d'éléments essentiels pour la qualité du vin.


Pour commencer, et pendant 3 ans, le viticulteur sera en ‘'période de conversion''. Durant cette période le producteur, arrêtera les produits chimiques et il sera suivi par les organismes de certification. Il pourra alors ajouter sur son étiquette ‘' "En cours de conversion vers l'agriculture biologique" mais il n'aura pas le droit d'utiliser le logo.


A noter que les vins bio ne donnent pas la "gueule de bois" car ils ne contiennent que peu de soufre. En revanche le soufre étant un stabilisant les vins faiblement dosés présentent un risque de moins bonne conservation, notamment lors de variations de température.


Les labels BIO sont décernés par des organismes agréés.


En France le Label est décerné par l'organisme Ecocert (www.ecocert.fr)


> Voir tous les vin bio sélectionnés
> Voir notre dossier "Les vins en Biodynamie"
mets

Accords mets et vins

Ou


Global Wine
Sondage

Sondage

Ou achetez-vous généralement votre vin ?





Résultats

Suivez-nous

Facebook Twitter RSS